Speech Show 2018

posted in: Top Stories | 0

The Speech Show 2018 – Inauguration Ceremony of Speech Master 2018 – was held at the Main Hall of the Faculty of Management and Commerce of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura on the 19th of June 2018. The event began ceremoniously at 6.00PM with the lighting of the oil lamp by the dignitaries and the representatives of the invited gavel clubs and schools and singing of the university anthem, following a video showing the history of Speech Master. The welcome address was delivered by the president Gv.Yashmi Jayaweera. Following this the director of the Career Guidance Unit USJP addressed the audience.

After that, an introductory video of Junior Speech Master 2018, which is to be held for the first time this year, was played.

Following this, the event was handed over to the Chair of the evening Gv. Hiran and the following speeches were delivered by the guest speakers:

Toastmaster Shamen Sameera of Serendib Toastmasters Club – Way of the Coward

Toastmaster Shamen is a Senior Executive at LB Finance and currently serves as the president of Serendib Toastmasters club

Toastmaster Yasir Harris of SLIM Toastmasters Club – The Future of Us.

Toastmaster Yasir is an Associate Member of the Sri Lanka Institute of Marketing.

Following this the guests were entertained with a wonderful musical mashup by our very own gaveliers Chandula, Osanda, Pravini, Randima and Shahel.

Next, a presentation about the path that led to  Speech Master 2018 was done by the Masters of the Ceremony Gv.Osanda & Gv.Pravini.

The event was handed over to the second chair of the evening Gv.Kishory for the following speeches by the winners of past Speech Master contests :

Dahami Fonseka – The Magic Wand

Miss. Dahami is the winner of Speech Master 2015.


Thisuri Dematagoda – Be Happy, the Choice is Yours.

Toastmaster  Thisuri is the winner of Speech Master 2016.


Chiranthi Senanayake – The Most Wanted Criminal.

Miss Chiranthi is the winner of Speech Master 2017


Next came the moment everyone had been eagerly waiting for: The Official Inauguration of SM 2018

The Junior Speech Master and Speech Master 2018 awards – both the trophies and the cheques – were launched in the most respected and magnificient manner by the dignitaries of the event in the presence of representatives of the various clubs and schools. The cheques were then signed by the club advisor Mr.Sameera Jayawardene. It was the most memorable moment of the evening.

The event was concluded with the National Anthem followed by a curtain call for all the members of the Jpura Gavel Club.